Friday, April 1, 2016

Cowboys Don't Cry (Tanner Brothers Book 1) by Anne McAllister - Review


Don’t Fence Me In

When Wyoming cowboy Robert Tanner promised to help out the new owner of the Three Bar C, he didn’t expect to have to teach a city girl schoolteacher how to run a ranch. Worse, Maggie MacLeod was a beautiful feisty redhead with flashing eyes and kissable lips — a woman who could tempt a saint.

Tanner was far from a saint. He didn’t do permanent, he didn’t do relationships. The smart thing would be to leave. But a man was only as good as his word. Trouble was, the longer he stayed, the more Maggie got under his skin…

The Tanner Brother series
Book 1: Cowboys Don't Cry
Book 2: Cowboys Don't Quit
Book 3: Cowboys Don't Stay

My Review:

A heartwarming love story

Robert Tanner and Maggie MacLeod’s initial meeting wasn’t exactly what you would call ideal.  When Tanner had gotten thrown off a horse, he opened his eyes to see a pretty angel.  It turns out that angel was Maggie. 

Tanner is a hard working private man.  As the ranch foreman at Three Bar C, he doesn’t have time for anything except work.  He definitely doesn’t have time for a relationship no matter how pretty Maggie is.  Tanner already has one bad marriage that he would rather forget.  He felt he failed his first wife and doesn’t want to do that to another woman.   

City girl Maggie has inherited Three Bar C Ranch and has decided to run it.  Maggie expects Tanner to show her the ropes.  Tanner does everything he can to make Maggie feel uncomfortable and unwanted so she will leave.  But as they spend more time together, they start to grow fond of each other.  Will Tanner be able forget the past and open up to love again?

This is a well written and thought out book.  Maggie and Tanner are total opposites who eventually bring out the best in each other.  If this story is any indication of the rest of the series, I can’t wait to read the other books. 

No comments:

Post a Comment