Tuesday, June 22, 2021

Review: Nothing But Cowboy (The Raffertys of Last Stand #1) by Justine Davis



He thought he was content, until she walked in the door…

Keller Rafferty abandoned his dreams long ago to help his mom raise his brothers after his father’s death. Duty, family and deep roots still guide him as he runs his family’s Texas cattle ranch and cares for his new, grieving foster son. They’re just beginning to find a balance when a beautiful and determined woman arrives on the ranch.

Sydney Brock spent her entire globe-trotting life thinking she had no family except her ne'er do well, nomadic, irresponsible parents. When she discovers her parents lied and she has a newly-orphaned cousin, Sydney rushes halfway around the world to provide the teen with something she never had—a home. She’s shocked to be thwarted by a protective—and sexy—cowboy.

Sydney’s determined to form a relationship with her cousin, but Keller doesn’t trust that the worldly woman will stay in small town Texas. It’s up to Sydney to prove him wrong, and the longer she spends time with Keller, his family and her cousin, the more she vows to do just that.


My Review:

A heartwarming romance.

This is a sweet story centered around a boy who loses his parents in a car accident.  Sydney, a world traveler who doesn’t have a place she calls home, learns about her cousin, Lucas, and sets off to Texas to meet him.  She has no idea she will be met by the Raffertys, an overprotective ranching family who have taken Lucas in and raising him as one of their own.  Keller, the oldest son, who took care of his family after losing his father in a war when he was just a teenager, plans on adopting Lucas.  As Sydney gets to know Lucas, she also gets to know the Raffertys and really likes them.  She also starts to fall for Keller; something she never thought would happen.  Maybe the small town of Last Stand, Texas, is where she was meant to be after all. 

I thoroughly enjoyed the beginning of this new series.  The writer did a great job bringing this story to life.  The descriptions of the characters and the ranch made it easy to follow.  I look forward to reading the next book in this series.   

Tuesday, June 15, 2021

Review: A Case for the Cookie Baker (Ainsley McGregor, #5) by Candace Havens

 It’s all fun and games until the last cookie crumbles…

Ainsley McGregor and the entire town of Sweet River, Texas, are preparing for the annual summer celebration. And thanks to the extra tourist traffic, Ainsley’s shop, Bless Your Art, has never been busier. Good thing her new friend, Lizzie, has opened a bakery nearby and provides Ainsley and her staff with tasty treats and daily sugar rushes. It’s all cookies and fun, until someone ends up dead in the bakery and her new pal is the prime suspect.

Ainsley is convinced Lizzie is innocent. Unfortunately, her brother, the town sheriff, and her boyfriend, Jake, have some not-so-secret suspicions. With a town full of strangers who just might be suspects, Ainsley finds herself targeted by a killer. Even as her world crumbles faster than a cookie, she’s determined to prove her friend’s innocence—if she can stay alive long enough.


My Review:

An entertaining cozy mystery.

Ainsley McGregor, owner of Bless Your Art, in the charming town of Sweet River, Texas, is known for more than just her shop.  She is also known for solving crimes even before the police can do it.  In this book, someone is killed in the bakery and Ainsley teams up with her friends and dog, George Clooney, to find the killer before he/she strikes again. 

I always enjoy reading the books in this series to see what Ainsley and her friends are up to.  George Clooney is such a fun part of every story and always brings a few laughs.  This writer really knows how to keep you guessing until the very end.  I am always surprised to find out how the killer is.  Even though this is a series, each book can be read on its own.

Thursday, June 10, 2021

Review: Cowboy Honor (Tangled Up in Texas #5) by Michelle Beattie

This time he wants it all...

Hudson Granger’s family has been estranged since he was a boy. Sixteen years later, not much is different. Or so he thought. After an eighteen-month deployment, he arrives home to his family’s Texas ranch and is shocked by how much life has changed. His brothers are mending fences and have found love. Their father is slowly recovering from a massive heart attack. The kick to Hudson’s chest—learning he has an infant daughter.

Nurse Avery Collins never planned on telling Hudson their vacation fling had resulted in a child. He’d made it clear he wasn’t looking for anything serious, and after her dad ran out on her and her family, she didn’t want to rely on a man for anything. But when her daughter has a serious health scare, Avery’s hand is forced.

Despite their sizzling attraction, Avery is determined to keep Hudson at arm’s length, co-parenting only. But Hudson wants everything—a wife and a family. And he’s determined to get it.


My Review:

A welcome addition to the Tangled Up in Texas series. 

Eighteen months ago, Hudson Granger lost his best friend.  To numb the pain, he hooked up with Avery Collins, a girl he met on South Padre Island.  He never expected to see her again.  But when he returned from his deployment in the middle east, he discovered Avery had his baby.  Now, Hudson has his job cut out for him learning to be a father and trying to convince Avery they could be a good family together. 

I enjoyed seeing how Avery and Hudson put their emotional pasts behind them in order to trust enough to give love a chance.  This book answered a lot of questions I had as I read the previous books in the series.  I would definitely read this series in order.