Thursday, July 20, 2017

Marry Me at Willoughby Close by Kate Hewitt - Review

Welcome to Willoughby Close… a charming cluster of cozy cottages, each with a story to tell and a happy ending to deliver…

Alice James has been a drifter her whole life, working her way through several foster homes before ending up in Wychwood-on-Lea, feeling anchorless and invisible. When a chance encounter leads to Alice accepting a position as a caretaker and companion to Lady Stokeley, she starts to feel as if she might finally be able to put down some roots and live the way other people do.

Then, Lady Stokeley’s nephew, city banker Henry Trent, storms into Willoughby Manor, seeming to find fault with everything, including Alice. As the next in line to the manor and title, he threatens to upturn everything she’s started to build. But Henry is hiding his own secret fears and weaknesses, ones he's desperate for no one to discover. A surprising and inconvenient attraction that simmers between them leaves Alice feeling more confused than ever, and Henry torn between duty and desire, fear and love.

When circumstances become even more difficult, both Alice and Henry must decide who they really are, and what they are willing to fight for. Could Alice possibly the next Lady of Willoughby Manor?

My Review:

I thoroughly enjoyed the conclusion of The Willoughby Close series.  I don't think it could have ended any better than it did.

Henry Trent came across as mean and uncaring throughout the series.  I was happy to find out more about him and hear why he seemed so mean, guarded and didn't want anyone to get close to him.

Alice James was the perfect companion and caretaker for Lady Stokeley.  Having been brought up in the foster system, Alice didn't have much and never experience real love or friendship.  The friends she made at Willoughby Close, with Lady Stokeley and Henry were priceless and helped her realize she was worthy of love.

If you haven't read this series yet, you will want to start book one to learn about Lady Stokeley as her story runs throughout the series. The rest of the stories are concluded at the end of each book.  The author did a wonderful job with this series.

No comments:

Post a Comment